Who We Are

The Ontario Collaborative Group on Healthy Eating and Physical Activity initiated the process to create the Ontario Food and Nutrition Strategy and has continued to lead it.

The Collaborative Group has brought together food and food system experts from across the province to act as the Design Team, guiding the process of creating the strategy.

The groups that are part of the Ontario Food and Nutrition Strategy Design Team (as of October 2014) are:

Cancer Care Ontario – Rebecca Truscott*

Canadian Cancer Society – Florentina Stancu-Soare/Joanne DiNardo

Canadian Diabetes Association – Christine Albee

Canadian Environmental Law Association- Theresa McClenaghan/Kathleen Cooper

Chiefs of Ontario – Bernadette deGonzague

Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario – Nathan Stevens

Dietitians of Canada – Lynn Roblin*/Leslie Whittington-Carter

Heart and Stroke Foundation – Coleen Hill

First Nations Inuit & Health Branch, Health Canada- Sharmaline Fernando

Nishnawbe Aski Nation – Wendy Trylinski

Ontario Federation of Agriculture – Neil Currie

Ontario Society of Nutrition Professionals in Public Health – Amy MacDonald /Lyndsay Davidson/Kim Ouellette

Organic Council of Ontario – Jodi Koberinski

Ontario First Nations Integrated Health Strategy Working Group – Marja George

Ontario Medical Association – John Wellner

Ontario Public Health Association – Karen Gough/Lynn Roblin

Public Health Ontario – Heather Manson/Mary O’Brien

Ryerson University – Jessica Wegener

Sustain Ontario – Ravenna Nuaimy-Barker*/Carolyn Young

Toronto Food Policy Council – Lauren Baker

University of Toronto/Memorial University – Cathy Mah

University of Waterloo – Rhona Hanning

Wilfrid Laurier University – Ellen Desjardins

University of Guelph – Ralph Martin

York University – Rod MacRae

Community Members – Cindy Scythes, Carol Dombrow, Sharon Zeiler, Lisa Mardlin Vandewalle, Connie Uetrecht


Related News on the Sustain Ontario Blog
  • NRC Webinar on Marketing to Kids: Introducing Canada’s New Proposed Legislation Bill S-228

    The Nutrition Resource Centre (NRC) is hosting a webinar on Bill S-228: An Act to amend the Food and Drug Act (prohibiting direct food and beverage marketing directed at children) on Thursday, October 25, from 12 – 1:30 p.m. The Bill passed its third reading in the House of Commons on September 19, 2018. Next []

    read more

  • Nourish Recruiting Healthcare Employees across Canada to Influence Food Purchasing!

    Launched just this week, Nourish is an initiative that is developing a two-year leadership development program for innovators shaping the future of food in Canadian healthcare. The Nourish Program According to their website, the national cohort will be supported to increase the role of food in patient care and community well-being. The cohort will be supported by facilitators, mentors, []

    read more

  • Can Twitter lead us to water?

    Join the Nutrition Resource Centre in partnership with EPODE Canada as they examine the potential for social marketing campaigns  to influence human behaviours and to help us make healthier choices like choosing water over sugar-sweetened beverages.   The two organizations are hosting  Using Social Marketing to Promote Water and Reduce Sugary Drinks webinar on June 9 that promises a []

    read more

  • Bruce Grey Food Charter

    The Bruce Grey Food Charter continues to seek endorsements after its fall 2015 launch.  It was developed by Bruce Grey Poverty Taskforce with open consultation with community members.  There are dozens of such local food charters in Ontario addressing critical food policy issues for greater local food security and more vibrant agriculture. The Charter states that it is “a commitment []

    read more

  • Save the Date! June 21 DC Moves Forum in Dufferin County

    Headwaters Communities in Action and Dufferin County will host the second DC Moves forum on Tuesday, June 21.  Executive Directors, program leads, or alternates from human service agencies in Dufferin are invited to participate and provide input. Improving agency collaboration is at the heart of DC Moves, a “made in Dufferin” initiative working to identify opportunities and develop innovative []

    read more

  • Advancing an Edible Education: Government Consultation on Experiential Learning

    The Government of Ontario has initiated a consultation period seeking comments on the Future of Experiential Learning in Ontario until the end of May 2016, as the Ministry of Education is expanding experiential learning to provide students with a broader range of learning opportunities that are “connected to the community”. To help inform the development of this []

    read more

  • Webinar Explores Tax on Sugar-Sweetened Beverages

    Will a taxation of sugar-sweetened beverages reduce consumption, and thus improve the health of Canadians?  In a May 5 Webinar, Dietitians of Canada discusses its new position paper that recommends an excise tax on such beverages sold in Canada as part of addressing the negative impact of these beverages on health. While the live Nutrition Resource Centre Webinar currently is []

    read more

  • 2015 Pre-Budget Submissions from Sustain Members and Allies

    A collection of public submissions from Sustain Ontario Members and allies.

    read more

  • Menu Labelling Legislation Re-Introduced

    Yesterday, the Ontario government introduced Bill 45, Making Healthier Choices Act, which includes provisions that would require restaurants and food service operations that are part of a chain of 20 or more establishments to post the number of calories (and potentially other nutritional information) for each food item on their menus.  This was a key []

    read more

  • A labour of love? Debates on anti-poverty in the kitchen, family farmers and food workers

    Food writers in this week’s news have been turning their attention to a food system issue that often gets sidelined: labour.

    read more

More News